Broncos/Eagles Safety Brian Dawkins Announces Retirement


Former Eagles and Broncos Safety Brian Dawkins has announced via twitter that he will be calling it a career.  Dawkins has played in the league for 16 years and has brought big hits and big play to the table, all while being one of the most humble guys in the league.  There’s almost no doubt that Dawkins will be admitted into the Hall of Fame, if not immediately in 2017, then sometime within his first couple of years of eligibility.  Via Dawkins’s twitter:

The Lord has blessed me to play in the NFL for 16 years. I would like to thank the Eagles & the Broncos 4 believing In me. I would like 2 thank all my teammates & Coaches that I have been blessed 2 go to battle with. Along with u, the fans 4 helping make my career 1 that i have enjoyed tremendously. In other words. I am announcing my retirement from the NFL. #BBTB

Brian Dawkins was drafted in the 2nd round by the Philadelpha Eagles in the 1996 draft and has been an 8-time Pro Bowler and 4-time All-Pro.  He started 221 career games, accounting for 26 sacks, 37 INTs, 2 TDs, and 911 tackles.

Comments?

