Top 50 Songs of 2011 Part III (30-21)


We are nearing the end of the countdown my friends (John McCain voice), it’s been fun counting these down (kinda, I’m losing my mind trying to figure out what songs I’ve forgotten) as I like sharing interests with people as well as new music.  This countdown is orchestrated through a mix of my personal favorites and radio hits, but enough of that, let’s keep it moving:

30. Ke$ha – Sleazy 2.0 featuring Wiz Khalifa, Andre 3000, Lil Wayne, T.I.

I liked this song the first time I heard it, but it only had verses from Andre and Wiz, and I’m still trying to figure out just how Ke$ha ended up with all these people on one remix with HER.  Regardless, this is the only Ke$ha song that may ever make it in my car or on my iPod.

29. Ace Hood – Hustle Hard Remix featuring Rick Ross and Lil Wayne

I’m not a big fan of Ace Hood…or Wayne….or Ross for real, but this song was on repeat the first time I heard it….I played it for at least half my trip from Birmingham to Atlanta…yup, at least half the trip….repeat.

28. Wale – Lotus Flower Bomb featuring Miguel

I’ve disliked 70% of his catalog since “Attention: Deficit”, but this is probably my favorite of what he’s released recently.  Ambition still was nowhere near my favorite album, and I’ve forgotten about almost every track on there but this.  Lois Flower Bomb. Family Guy.

27. T-Pain – 5 O’clock featuring Lily Allen and Wiz Khalifa

Man, I’ve been waiting on T-Pain to drop something worthwhile the entire year, he kind of disappeared from the scene for whatever reason, and then suddenly, late in 2011 he dropped this gem.  Well done, well put together, and a surprise feature from Wiz.

26. Lupe Fiasco – Out of My Head featuring Trey Songz

For the most part, I’m ignoring Lasers, as is half of Lupe’s fan base.  What surprises me is that out of all the songs I actually like on this album that shall not be named, “Out of My Head” which features Trey Songz of all people, is one of my favorites.  I know right? Crazy.

25. YC – Racks featuring Future

YC hasn’t done anything outside of this song, it’s funny to me that Future is the one who’s career has “taken off” (For lack of a better term).  Regardless of how you feel about the song, you can’t tell me that you haven’t “accidentally” found yourself singing the hook, don’t lie to me bro.

24. Maroon 5 – Moves Like Jagger featuring Christina Aguilera

THIS. IS. MY. ****! Judge me if you want to, I don’t care man, I don’t care at all! I do that “Night at the Roxburry” head nod when this song comes on, EVERY TIME.  By the way, was 2011 the year of “You know what? Nobody’s heard from me in a long time, why don’t I jump on some track I’m not expected to be on.

23. Jessie J – Price Tag featuring B.o.B.

I don’t know where she is right now, but thank you Jessie J,  thank you.

22. No Suh Foster – Seeds of Resistance featuring Vega and Baron Amato

If you think there are no good rappers in Alabama….well, here you go.  If you never grabbed No Suh’s mixtape “Grassroots”, you need to google search and go get it.

21. Flashbang Grenada (Busdriver + NoCanDo) – Aphrodite

To close this edition out, here’s a little Flashbang Grenada.  I really wanted to put a lot of songs from this project on this list, but I thought it would be overkill and take up at least 8 slots on this list.  So I had to pick not only what was the best track on here, but what was the most meaningful.  A lot of the songs on “10 Haters” are a little too out there and over the top (don’t get me wrong, I love em), but this one was just perfect, when I heard it I was shocked.  It’s different, but it’s within their style, I love it.

2 thoughts on “Top 50 Songs of 2011 Part III (30-21)

  1. #28… Didn’t know that was Wale but I like that song. Like the video too seeing as my favorite ‘character’ from ANTM is the love insterest. Glad to see her career is flourishing.

    #24… My new favorite song! I’ve known it existed because my sister and her kids LOVE it but watching the video has made me like it too. Sooooo… Adam Levine?! O_O -_- O_O WHOA! I had no idea he was so…tatted… *drool* =D I’ve liked him for a long time, since he did “Wild Horses” with Alicia Keys on her Unplugged album but I’ve never really looked at him. A little skinny for my taste but still yummy.

  2. Pingback: Top 50 Songs of 2011 Part 5 (10-1) « sportmusiclife

Comments?

